I’m starting my third week in Colombia, and I honestly can’t believe the difference in my mindset from now versus when I got here. Obviously just plopping yourself down in the middle of a completely new and different country, alone, for two months is going to be hard, but for some reason, I was surprised with how difficult my first few days here were. For my first several days, I would go back and forth between “I love it here” to “counting down the days until I go home,” sometimes even in the same breath. Now that I’ve got two weeks in Colombia under my belt, though, I’m in a “literally don’t know how I’m going to to leave this place” mindset. I remember hearing a quote once that is something along the lines of, “How lucky I am to have known somebody and something that makes it difficult to say goodbye.” Been thinking a lot the past couple days about how true that is. Time is starting to speed by here, and I can’t believe it’s already June 22.

The past ten or so days have been spent getting accustomed to the life and lifestyle of the Colombians. I finally tried my first cup of coffee, and let’s just say I’m never going to be able to go to Starbucks again. I’ve watched so much soccer that I’m now able to recognize the names/faces of the Colombian soccer team. The other day, when talking to Aby about the outcome of one of the games, I subconsciously said “if we win…” He goes, “We?” and I laughed. I guess I’m officially one of them, at least where soccer is concerned. I’ve learned more about the soccer camps that happen at Tierra Alta and the evangelism side of things, and I’ve learned that it’s impossible to remain invisible as a blond American in Fusagasugá/Chinauta.

 

My English classes are going really well at Sueños de Vivir, and I’m excited about the relationships I’m forming with some of my students there. I’m not going to lie — it’s not always fun. There are some students who obviously couldn’t care less about learning English. There are some who ask inappropriate questions. But for the most part, we enjoy ourselves. There are a few students who have an obvious desire to learn and are really good at English. And of course, the best part is that the classes are opening the door for relationships to be formed apart from teaching English.

I’m really excited to see what else the Lord has in store for Sueños de Vivir and Tierra Alta as the summer continues. I’ve met some seriously awesome people here in just two weeks, including a group of Argentine missionaries who arrived a couple days after me to work with Aby coaching soccer through the Highlands sports camp ministry. I got to have some fun conversations with these guys (and see some frustrating card tricks haha), and just might be planning my next international trip for the near future ;)

Colombia is, in a word, great. I still have moments where I’m grumpy and don’t feel like working, but then God reminds me that I’m here to serve Him and I’m humbled again by His power and divine appointments. Prayer requests for this week include specifically praying for some of my English students — it’s obvious that some of them are resistant to the gospel and don’t want to give up a lifestyle that they perceive is better than life with Christ. I know, though, that the Lord can change anyone’s life, even though it might look impossible to us.

And once again, I love hearing about what’s going on in Georgia (even though it might not seem like much to you), so feel free to shoot me a message! I talk about Colombia all day long, so sometimes it’s nice to hear about life elsewhere. Thanks for praying

 

 

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

