When lightning strikes

It has taken me three days and a lot of pep talks to type this blog post. Why? Well, us one of you may have heard of that little tropical storm Chantal that made her way past the Dominican Republic last week. We only got a thunderstorm here, but with that thunder came lightning, and one of those bolts of lightning struck the outlet to which my computer was connected- thus killing my charger and leaving me Mac-less until I return to the good ol’ USA and buy a new charger. So typing a blog post from my phone – not something on my list of things I’ve always wanted to do. Especially if you guys could see the way my autocorrect is treating me right now.

I have precisely two days left at Pasitos de Jesús, and typing that is actually unbelievable. On Saturday, a group arrives from Hebron that I’ll be spending the following week with. I’m over the moon excited to see everyone, but I think I might e more excited about the shower I get to take at SCORE on Saturday. If you all could see what I’ve been living (and showering) in for the past few weeks, you’d understand. It’s a good thing I’m not a picky eater (my mom will laugh for days at that statement) because I have eaten som of the most questionable meals of my life here. But when in Rome, I guess.

Thinking about my living conditions the other day though got me to thinking. A lot of people come on mission trips and leave with the mindset “I’m so blessed at home.” It’s true, we have a lot compare to the people in villages here: things I never even thought of as taking for granted, like the fact that we don’t lose power for a few hours every afternoon. But I was hit hard the other day with the idea that I don’t want that to be everyone’s big take-away from this trip. You need to see poverty to tell you that you’ve got it good, go to the non-UGA parts of Athens – it’s one of the most impoverished cities in the nation. You needn’t travel to a foreign country to tell you that as Americans, a lot of us have a lot. “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations,” Jesus tells us in Matthew. I have been praying the past few days that the group coming on Saturday will be the hands and feet of God and that, although I know everyone will undoubtedly have that “I’m blessed” thought during the week, that’s not all they leave with. I want all of us to be pushed out of our comfort zones, to share the gospel boldly, form relationships, and for God to use each one of us and change each of us.

This will probably be my last post unt I return to the States, partially because I won’t have Internet starting Saturday but mostly because I’d rather stab myself in the eye than type another blog post from my phone. I’m SO excited for what God has in store for the next 10 days, and for those of you praying, I would appreciate prayers for safety, courage, and that we as a team may be used by God and for God next week. May His kingdom come and will be done.

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

