When oceans rise

The thing about being on a trip like this is that I actually have something to blog about regularly, but without internet for the past week, I’ve had all these thoughts racing around in my brain with no real outlet for them. And for that reason, here is my second blog post of the day:

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: the Dominican Republic has a special place in my heart, and there is honestly no place I feel happier than in this country. We landed last Saturday at 2 in the afternoon and I don’t think I stopped smiling the entire rest of that day. But getting here—getting here was difficult, but through it I have once again been reminded of God’s faithfulness if only we look to Him and listen for Him at all times.

I mentioned previously that a couple weeks before I had planned to leave for the DR, I received a call from Dustin, the missions pastor, saying that the orphanage where I planned on interning while I was down here didn’t have a room for me to live in. From that conversation, my trip to the Dominican was essentially on hold until they could figure things out. If I’m being honest, part of me was feeling a little relieved. It’s easy to get comfortable in the United States and forget why I wanted to leave in the first place. It’s easy to get into your daily routine and stop listening to God. So part of me was okay with it. And the part of me that can remember God’s calling when the rest of my brain is being stupid was disappointed, but it wasn’t a big part at that time.

Then a few days later during the Point (12Stone’s high school ministry), they introduced a new song called “Oceans.” The lyrics at the bridge are Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters wherever You would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander and my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my savior. The words rang so true to me and that essentially became my prayer for my Dominican trip: let me walk upon the waters wherever You would call me. I began to pray that if the Dominican was truly where God was calling me for the summer, that He would make that clear to me. I think the day after I really prayed that prayer, Dustin called me to say he was buying my plane ticket to leave the following Saturday. God is so faithful.

I’m here, and I’m elated. I know this is exactly where God wants me. He has a plan far greater and will do immeasurably more than we could ever ask or imagine, and I am so excited to see how that unfolds for the next month. I’m currently just sitting here at the orphanage I’m working at, listening to my new roommate and her brother learn to play/sing How He Loves. Few things could make life more perfect, you guys.

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

