Brown paper packages tied up with strings

In the spirit of the the approach of my favorite time of year, I wanted to share a list of a few of my current favorite things. Even though I’m currently on spring break, school is getting to that point that it does every semester where I feel like I’m drowning and need a reprieve—enter my favorite things. Sometimes you just need to take a break from repeating “more pie for less people” to remember why narrow band noise is the most efficient masking noise (literally, that is what I was studying last week). So without further ado, here’s my list of current favorites. Maybe something will catch your eye and you’ll have a new go-to when you need a break.

1. When searching “Laguna Beach: Where are they now?” the other day, I came across Morgan’s blog, Smith Here, and have clicked “older posts” so many times that I am now back to January of last year. Who would have guessed that little Morgan from Laguna Beach would grow up to have one of the best blogs I’ve ever read, and an equally as awesome-sounding life.

53fa620b-7072-4c42-b691-a6b8cdc98830wallpaper

2. Rewatching all my favorite tv shows—which, let’s face it, is an all-the-time favorite, not just current. Gilmore Girls is almost always in my DVD player, and I’ve also been working on Smallville lately. Can we all just agree that the best reason to own any tv show or movie on DVD is having the gag reel? Smallville and Gossip Girl bloopers reels are honestly some of the funniest things I’ve ever seen. While we’re on the subject of television, I’ll just throw in that Beauty and the Beast on the CW is 100% my new favorite show. I am obsessed.

3. One of my favorite parts of my birthday each year is what my best friend gets me—not even actually getting a present, but just finding out what it is. Since we’ve known each other for so many years, we always come up with the perfect Christmas and birthday presents. This year she got me a Spanish-English Bible, and I am thrilled. Since I’m going to be in the Dominican Republic this summer for a longer period of time, and because we both love our friend Olivia’s, she decided it was time for my own. I can’t stop opening it.

4-5. I’ve always loved to read. When I was in kindergarten, I was reading at a third grade reading level and I don’t think I ever slowed down. I recently found out that my favorite series from middle school had 4 more books come out in the past few years, so even though I’m 21, I decided to pick them up and read. The Sammy Keyes series by Wendelin van Draanen is one I’d recommend to any middle school-age reader, but I’m totally enjoying them again now. Another series I decided to reread is the Children of the Red King books by Jenny Nimmo. So yep, a couple of my favorite things happen to be book series centered around a 13-year-old girl and a 10-year-old boy. I can live with that.

6. If Daylight Saving Time beginning is not on your list of favorite things, I don’t think I can be friends with you. I love summer. Hear me, people? Love it. I would always choose 90 degrees over snow if I had that choice. Summer is coming. I don’t care that we “sprang ahead” and “lost an hour of sleep” (I was at work during that time change, so I just got to come home at 6 am rather than 5). Time change means summer is on its way, and that will always be my number one favorite thing.

7-9. Warmer weather in itself is great, but it also means I can get my white mochas iced at Starbucks again—if you haven’t tried it, do it. They really are so good. And I’ve been drinking a lot of them lately to stay awake at work, but it’s okay because favorite thing number 7 is my job at American Eagle. It’s retail; it’s nothing glamorous. But I love my coworkers, and even though we sometimes have to work overnight or deal with customers and fitting rooms and folding clothes for hours, I totally enjoy my job. Another “job” I am so blessed to have is being a leader at 12Stone’s high school ministry, the Point. Thursday nights (especially tonight) are so much fun and becoming something I look forward to each week. The pastor is incredible, their mission is amazing.

af40cc97-c1e1-4e2c-9743-518bc6d00f1ewallpaper

And then just a few more quick favorites for good measure: Pinterest, Project Life, Instagram, spontaneous plans for daytrips to the beach, stripes, “It’s the Hard Knock Life” from Annie, Harry Potter on audio, birthday cake, sparks of creativity, and raspberry Coke

ETA: I just realized I began this list with admitting to the fact that I googled “Laguna Beach where are they now?” the other day, so. Not ashamed, I suppose.

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

