In with the new

It’s almost 2013 – I’m not the only one who thinks this is crazy, right? 2012 has been a heck of a year, filled with a lot of adventures and a lot of change – change that I, for one, am supremely thankful for.

When I was younger, I thought it was so cliche when people viewed new years as an opportunity for a “new you” or fresh start. Then came freshman year of college, and for the next 16 months or so, every new season I viewed as an opportunity for a new start — the end of my first semester, the new year, then summer, then the new school year (it was a struggling time for me, haha). Finally, the start of 2012 for me didn’t mean I needed a fresh start or a blank slate, and I was so excited.

So much has happened in 2012, it’s hard to sum it up in a blog post. If I had to pick one word to describe the year, it’d be “change” (in case you couldn’t tell from the common thread in practically all of my posts). It’s funny, because I used to despise change with every fiber of my being. I’d hold tight to things I loved, afraid that I’d lose them if I loosened my grip. God taught me this year that holding too tightly is precisely what will cause you to lose something. I’m thankful for that lesson. Looking back through pictures from the year, it can be summarized as a year of blooming and rekindling friendships, Sundays and Tuesdays at 12Stone, many 20th birthday celebrations (and the start of the 21st birthday celebrations), and a whole lot of “what are we doing?” moments. And then there’s Peru and the Dominican Republic, the two biggest events of my year, and two trips that molded me so much.

So now there’s 2013. Last year I viewed wanting a fresh start as a negative thing that I was glad to “not need” (looking back, God still gave it to me). This year I see it this way: clean slates pave way for new adventures. At church this morning, Dan Reiland talked about a clean slate not being a blank slate — ie, God has a plan for you. The agenda is not blank. But it’s clean. There are new adventures waiting, and I love that.

So, happy New Year to all, and I am so looking forward to what’s in store for 2013.

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

