Forget former things

God brings me back to Isaiah constantly. Sometimes it’s subtle reminders, sometimes it’s like He walked into the room and sat down next to me to have a conversation.

Isaiah 43:18-19 has been one of my favorite passages from scripture for a long time. I guess I’ve always been big on reminders to not dwell on the past because it’s always been my downfall. When I was in Peru this summer, I was blessed to have this sudden breakthrough with letting go – but it’s not something you can do just once and be done with it (don’t we all wish?). Sometimes daily, I’m having to pray that I can continue to focus on the new things coming instead of focusing on the past. It matters what you focus on. I learn that more and more every day.

Saturday night something really cool happened. If you go back and read my second ever post on here, you’ll see that I talk about summer being a time of renewal for me, and the season that I’m always happiest. It’s one of the truest statements I’ve ever made. I love summer in a way I can’t explain. So, one can infer pretty easily from that that I hate winter. This year I’ve decided on a new approach, and along with some friends, I’ve been praying for a happy winter for a couple months now (hey, I like to be ahead of the game.) The great thing is, I can already tell that God is answering these prayers. I felt it when I walked out of my house the other morning to a 55-degree day, and I didn’t have a hint of depression wash over me. I waited for it. The air felt like sadness – it was looming, almost tangible, like I should be able to reach out and grab it, and yet I just stood there for a second in front of my car, feeling completely content with life.

So back to Saturday night (forgive my rambling) – my sister and I went to our friend’s house to celebrate his birthday, and a few friends I haven’t seen in many months were there. We all talked and caught up on life, and then I tweeted a picture of, well, whoever ended up in it, saying, “Oh hey, it’s getting to be that time of year again.” (That time of year being the fall break/Thanksgiving break/winter break season, which comes in such quick succession, when everyone is back in town for a little while and you’re reunited with your high school friends.) And – this might sound really stupid, but bear with me – as I was sending that tweet, I felt God saying to me, “Do you see what you’re tweeting right now?” So I reread the tweet and realized – I’m happy and it’s way less than 90 degrees outside (aka, it’s 59 and I have to wear 5 sweaters to be warm). I’m sitting here tweeting about being excited that it’s this time of year, which is a huge deal for me. The past is in the past, and God is doing some new and awesome things. Fall is here and winter is coming, and I’m not in a slump.

It’s kind of the opposite, actually. A lot of happy things are happening in my life right now, and I am tracing it all back to the power of prayer and God’s promises. I am doing a new thing, He says – He who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters, who drew out the chariots and horses, the army and reinforcements together, and they lay there, never to rise again, extinguished, snuffed out like a wick. He always answers. Spend time with Him and He’ll always show you what you need. God and I had a pretty long talk Saturday night, and if I felt like writing a novel, I’d say more about it. But I hope more than anything to inspire others to sit down and have their own talk with God. It’s the best there is.

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

