Enjoy the small things

Apparently I’m getting into a rhythm of blogging once every two weeks without even intending to, but I’ll take it.

Last Tuesday I made a rather last-minute decision to drive home after class for church. It ended up being the best decision of the week, if my #lifeisgood and #godisgood hashtags on Twitter were any indication. After church, a bunch of friends played a game of kickball in the parking lot, and it gave me such joy – it was like a scene in a movie (as Lori said to me – “What kind of movies are you watching?” – apparently ones with kids playing kickball in church parking lots late at night, I don’t know). In all seriousness, though, it was a moment that reminded me to enjoy the little things in life. Instead of going home to do homework, enjoy that kickball game; enjoy the way your hazelnut coffee creamer tastes like Bible study; the way that song still brings you back to your favorite memory from summer;  enjoy car rides with best friends, and car rides without friends where you can pray the whole drive; the afternoon visits or phone calls with far-off friends; breakfast dates and coffee dates; those text messages that just ask you how you’re doing. It’s the little things that count.

There’s that saying, “Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” I’m realizing more and more that there is so much truth in that statement. I think back to two years ago and have clearer, fonder memories of nights spent on a couch in my favorite house watching movies than I do of the supposed-to-be significant moments of that year. I have clearer memories of a girl who didn’t really like me bringing me a cookie when she knew I was sad than I do of my first day of college. It’s the little things. We all get so busy working toward that next big event or life goal that we forget to stop and take notice what’s happening right now.

With October commencing, I feel like a lot of life’s little moments are coming – the changing leaves, the white chocolate mochas that no longer need to be iced, the chill in the air (I’m holding in my groan). Time is going by faster than ever (seriously, it’s already midterm week here), and I don’t want it all to go unnoticed. So I’m off to help prepare birthday surprises for one of my roommates – because the little things are the ones that count :)

 

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

