I can do all things

We’re back in Cusco after two days in Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu Pueblo). Saturday was a day full of travel – a van ride to the train station, then a train ride to the town. I listened to Harry Potter audio book on the rides, which makes me feel like I have a little bit of home here with me (nerd alert?).

Yesterday we climbed Wayna Picchu (the mountain in the background of the photo below). I remembered reading my friend Olivia’s blog about climbing a volcano in Nicaragua, and on my way up the mountain I just kept repeating “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” And I did it! It was hard, but now I feel like I could climb Stone Mountain ten times over. We had to wake up at 5 am to get up to the mountain on time, but it was definitely worth it. After the climb, we took a tour of the Incan ruins. I’ve definitely learned more about the Incans on this trip than I ever expected to learn, but some of it is pretty interesting stuff.

After a late lunch, most of our group went to los baños termales, which are hot springs that people go to (kind of like a water park with hot tubs instead of water slides? Trying to put it in perspective). It was an experience, to say the least. The water was more of a lukewarm, and we didn’t stay for long – but we were all still glad we went for the cultural experience.

I surprisingly don’t have much else to report right now. Today’s been a pretty calm day of traveling back to Cusco and some more shopping in the markets. My legs are so sore from climbing the mountain yesterday, and looking at that picture, I still can’t believe we actually did it!

Author: lagreene

daughter of the most high with a love of Spanish and going new places

Leave a Reply

